Halle Berry Makes Jewish Nose Joke on Leno

I don’t know what to make of this. I’ve seen interviews and other “real” time things with Halle Berry and in her defense, I really don’t think she is that bright of a person. So I don’t think she meant it with any meanness, but she just isn’t that smart. Here is what happened.

According to one audience member, “She introduced the first photo by saying, ‘Here’s where I look like my Jewish cousin!’ – it was a picture of her with a huge, distorted nose. No one laughed, and Jay nervously said, ‘I’m glad you said that and not me.’ When the show aired, they cut out her ‘Jewish’ comment and added a laugh track to the bit.”

Another guest in the audience told us, “If you watch the clip, you can see Halle saying the word ‘Jewish,’ though obviously there is no audio. NBC covered her a – -. Ms. Berry should know how unbelievably inappropriate her comment was . . . She should be ashamed of herself.”

Berry, 41, who sounded like she was near tears, told Page Six last night: “I so didn’t mean to offend anybody – and after the show I realized it could be seen as offensive, so I asked Jay to take it out, and he did.” (full story)

What’s amazing to me is not that she said it, but what she said afterwards.

The reason she says she made the comment in the first place is because she has 3 Jewish assistants and they saw the picture and made that Jewish nose joke. She then said it must have been stuck in her mind and when the picture came on screen she went for it.

Then later she tells Jay to please cut it because “it could be seen as offensive”, could be? That’s what I don’t get, she still isn’t sure if it’s offensive? I think that offensive stereotypes are horrible and the fact that she made the joke is wrong. If she knew it was wrong, she shouldn’t have said it in the first place. Her excuse that her Jewish friends made the joke would never fly if we were talking about something racial. Can you imagine if a Jewish actor came out and made an offensive racial comment and then said “oh, I have a black assistant, and she made the joke originally.

I think people just expect Jews to be less offended. Like its almost OK to be offensive to Jews for some reason. But I’m torn, because I don’t want them to make a big deal of these things. I think we over do it in this country with PC and oversensitivity. So I guess what I’m saying is that the fact that they make a big deal out other types of insensitivity but not Jewish insensitivity shows a lack in fairness. I also think its connected to the current rise in anti semitism and swastika attacks throughout the world.

I think one of the stereotypes about Jews is that we’re all rich and we run all the companies and we have no right to ever be offended by anything. We have it made, so to speak. So therefore its not important to defend us or make a big deal about it. Especially when one of the most popular American actresses makes one of the most insensitive Jewish stereotype jokes. Even worse, it’s a stereotype about appearance. It wasn’t too long ago a certain radio host made a stereotypical appearance joke, and the country went into turmoil for a week.

I guess they just don’t think we have a right to be offended. They think we live a good life in America and we should just sit back and be happy.

So ya, sure she is sorry, and she probably didn’t mean to offend anyone. Like I said I don’t think she is that bright and just didn’t think before making the joke. But I also don’t think we’d be having the same discussion this morning if it were a Jewish actor or regular white American actor or actress who “accidentally” made a racially offensive comment.

About lifeofrubinarchives

You enjoyed this blog for 5 years, but sadly now the ride is over. We decided to move the archives here for people who want to go back and revisit old posts and for new people to discover the blog for the first time!
This entry was posted in Anti Semitism, Jewish News, TV. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

