My Review of 8th Day's 2nd Album: "Brooklyn"

8th Day’s Website | 8th Day’s MySpace | Buy the CD on iTunes.

One of the first Jewish Music reviews I did on this blog was for this bands debut album. The band is primarily made up of Benny and Shmully Marcus. Shmully Marcus does most of the lead vocals but Benny does join in for the harmonies. I believe that the other brothers are also involved with the group when they perform and do work on the album. The Marcus brothers are the nephews of Avraham Fried and Benny Marcus worked on Bein Kack U’Bein Kach a bit with Avremel.

I have loved these guys from the very beginning. Everything about this band screams unique. Many people often ask “How come all Jewish music sounds the same?” and when they do I always tell them, buy Tracht Gut from 8th Day. The music is so distinct I can’t compare it to anything out there.

If I had to I would say take Chassidic/Rock/Punk/Folk/Freilach/Klezmer/Heartzig/Blues/Shiny Shoe/Blue Fringe/Lipa Schmeltzer. Take a little of each ingredient, throw it in a blender, mix for 60 seconds and what you have is this new hybrid of Jewish music called 8th Day.

Before we begin, if you haven’t heard the first album, read the review, buy the CD and enjoy!

The rating I will be using for each song is between 1 and 10 Krenitz’s.

1 – Brooklyn – Right off the bat you hear the musical styles and vocals that make these guys so awesome. I have had quite a long time to digest this song and it’s one of my favorite. I think the CD starts off strong, not just musically, but lyrically. One of the great things about this album is that it’s a lot less hard to understand, from a lyrics standpoint. I’m pretty sure there wasn’t any gibberish in the first album, but it needed decoding and research. This is a fun song about, well, Brooklyn. Rating: 9 Krenitz’s.

2 – Chassidim Don’t Say Goodbye – The CD comes out swinging – again. The second song on this CD is probably my favorite, but its so hard to chose. The heavy beats from the onset, the great vocal intro. It’s just a great song, and I love the lyrics too. This is what is so great about this group. They take a well known Chassidic saying and turn it into a catchy fun song.
Rating: 10 Krenitz’s.

3 – Been a Long Time – This is the first slow song on the album and it really shows the maturity of this group. The structure of the songs and the pacing is on such a more advanced level then the first CD. I loved the first CD, but it did have an indie, garage sort of feel to it. The harmonies are really good here and like I said before, the pacing is great. It takes its time to set up the song and then moves really great into the fast chorus of “Am Yisroel Chai” which is my favorite part of the song. Rating: 8 Krenitz’s.

4 – Don’t Forget (Where Your From) – This is the albums first full slow song. Been a long time is slow, but it becomes faster towards the end. This song is a more traditional slow song. The lyrics are as simple as can be. The message is not to forget where you come from. It has been discussed on other sites and is more then obvious that the song seems aimed at Matisyahu. Lyrics like “without your roots, you just fooling around”, “Now I see that they change your sound”, “Put you up on stages”, “make you think your some king with a crown.” I think the message is universal, for anyone. I think it’s a very powerful song. Everything really comes together nicely on this song musically. It’s just a great song.
Rating: 8.5 Krenitz’s.

5 – Wake Up – I love the music in this song. LOVE IT. What is funny about a lot of 8th Day songs is that many times each song is like two songs. Fast Part/Slow Part. The lyrics are ok, easy enough, wanna wake up in Yerushalayim, to the tune of music dancing. It’s a nice song, but the music is whats really great about this song. Especially the fast part, the music is so crisp and classic. I love that style. Only complaint is that I think the end is a little drawn out. Rating: 7 Krenitz’s.

6 – Krenitz – This song debuted originally as a single and was on the Chabad 25th Anniversary Telethon CD/DVD. I’m gonna be very honest with you now. At first, I did NOT like this song. I don’t mean at first, for a few weeks then I warmed up to it. I mean for at least a year before this CD came out I didn’t like this song. I thought the single was a bit flat. Then …. (you knew there would be a “but then” right?) When it came out on this CD the tempo was changed a bit. It was re-recorded (I think) and for some reason whatever slight edits they did to the song changed it for me. Now I love it. I don’t love it as much as Brooklyn or C.D.S.G. but I do like it a lot. I think this version is better produced musically, and as I mentioned before, the pacing is better. I think that the production on these songs are really advanced for Jewish music. The songs are given time to develop both musically and lyrically.
Rating: 8 Krenitz’s.

7- Broken Hearts – Heaven. This song is heaven. The intro is awesome, I love the piano and the buildup is so good. Shmully Benny really sounds like Avremel here. I really think that this song could easily be on a Fried CD. I can really picture Avremel singing this song. The lyrics are so powerful and the music is just outstanding. It’s a Moshiach song. “How Long, How Long? Ad Masai Till When? .. and all the hearts are broken …….you’re the only one that can put a broken heart back together.” It’s something I’ve written about before, wanting Moshiach to come from a place of despair and personal pain. Wanting it to end, and I think it takes this concept on a universal level. I love the mixing in of Yiddish here, I love the ending harmonies of the song, I love the feel of this song so much, it gives me chills every time I hear it. Rating: 10 Krenitz’s.

8- Cateye Glasses – This is where things get a bit “huh” this most definitely feels like a “Tracht Gut” first album song. I don’t whats going on in this song. The lyrics might as well be in Chinese. I’m sorry, but I’ve tried. I love the music, I think as usual its fantastic, but lyrically I have no idea whats going on in this song. Rating: 3 Krenitz’s.

9 – In the Painting – This is where I wonder if they might have stacked the front a bit here. Don’t get me wrong, this song is way better the Cateye Glasses, but it’s not in the same class as the first 7 songs. This song also has a Volume One feel. It’s more poetic (lyrically) and free flowing then say, Broken Hearts. It’s an ok song, but nothing earth shattering. Rating: 6 Krenitz’s.

10 – Instrumental – Awesome. This song is not long enough. This song is another reason this band is so unique. They have a song of the band just jamming. Not much of a chorus or direction, it’s just the band jamming. With the occasional “Bayom Hashmini” sprinkled in. Great song, great place to hear what they can do musically. Rating: 7.5 Krenitz’s.

11- Thank You – I get the concept of making Azamer (the next track) the last, but I think this really should have been the last song. It feels like the band is personally thanking me for listening to their music. It gives it a very personal touch, as I think all their music does. It’s a very fun, silly, happy, cool song. Still not on the level of the first 7, but still one of the best of the final 5. Rating: 7.5 Krenitz’s.

12 – Azamer – This song is like a tropical lullaby. The vocals are great in this song, another really well produced song. Once again showing excellent pacing and timing. The music is soft, but at the same time so strong. Like I said before I think this should have been song 11, but if any other song should have been a closer it would been this one. A great note to end the album, leaving you wanting more and more.Rating: 8 Krenitz’s.

Final Words:
If you liked the first CD you will be in love with this one. If you didn’t like the first album, I seriously, (no, really, seriously) recommend trying it. Listen to it all the way through and just really let the music bleed into you. It’s such a wonderful album with so many great messages and the band has so much talent. What might interest people who didn’t enjoy the first album is that it has a much more mainstream and traditional feel to it. While at the same time keeping that unique style and overall appeal.

8th Day’s Website | 8th Day’s MySpace | Buy the CD on iTunes.

About lifeofrubinarchives

You enjoyed this blog for 5 years, but sadly now the ride is over. We decided to move the archives here for people who want to go back and revisit old posts and for new people to discover the blog for the first time!
This entry was posted in 8th Day, Jewish Music, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

