Semi-Live Blogging of the Chabad Telethon

I’m watching the Chabad telethon now. I forgot it was on so I tuned in very late.

I’m recording some of it online so I will have a few musical videos to upload soon.

Watch it live here. Donate at ToLife.com or by calling 1-800-242-2239

So far ….

MBD sang Moshiach.
Shloime Gertner sang Shmeichel.
Avraham Fried sang My Zayde.
Gad Elbaz sang his new single Yeladim.

9:19 Jon Voight is on. (Angelina Jolie’s tatte)

9:22 A nice segment on the Chabad Residential Treatment Center.

9:24 Councilman Jack Weiss (who helped when there was a shooting by the Chabad in L.A. a little while ago.)

9:27 Pledge count – $1.81 Million raised so far.

9:30 Howie Mandel talking about the “Dancing Rabbi’s” and why they are so happy.

9:34 Jewish food humor. Nothing says funny like Gefilte Fish and Cholent jokes.

9:40 Segment on Chabad Friendship Circle. I personally know a family that has very close to ties to one of these centers. It’s a center that helps kids with special needs. You can’t imagine the good they do. For this program alone I’d donate as much as I could. Please take a moment to read about it.

9:45 Ethan Bortnick, 6 year old Piano prodigy. It’s amazing. I’m not recording it though because you can find it all over youtube. He’s also been on Leno and Good Morning America.

9:50 Jewish internet humor …. EmesNBC, JapQuest, Koogle. Ya, not exactly Seinfeld.

9:52 Leslie Grossman (Popular, What I Like About You, this year on NipTuck) is now on the telethon. I did NOT know she was Jewish, but I never knew her name, so why would I.

10:00 Yeshiva Boys Choir doing a very fast Carlebach medley. Look at Yossi N dancing. You go Yossi. (video coming soon)

10:05 Someone who has been involved since the first year of the telethon just donated $36,000.

10:08 Pledge count with a local Assemblyman. $2.48 Million. Wow.

10:10 Jackie Mason is now on! He just plugged his video blog. lol. Who knew he’d be so web savvy.

10:15 Rabbi Cunin just asked for a Refuah Sheleimah for Ruchama Aliza Sarah Chana who I wrote about earlier today.

10:17 Gad Elbaz is singing, but I missed the name of the song. It’s a fast song. (Is it called Haleilah Hazah Hazman?)

10:22 A guy who writes jokes on the Tonight Show with Jay Leno doing jokes.

10:33 I walked away for ten minutes and I have no idea who this is. I think I may be fading out here soon.

10:36 Bill Handel from KFI Radio is on.

10:38 The Mayor of L.A. is now on.

10:41 The Mayor does the pledge update. It’s $3.44 Million Dollars

10: 42 Craig Ferguson from CBS’s Late Late show.

10:44 Josh Melena from The West Wing, SportsNight, and soon NBC’s Big Shots has been answering phones at the pledge bank.

10:51 Avraham Fried with an adult choir singing Kol Nidrei. (Wow, which shul is he davening at this year, I wanna be there!) (video coming soon)

10:55 Now they are doing Avinu Malkeinu

11:03 Rebbetzin Cunin promote candle lighting, go to FridayLight.org

11:06 MBD singing Anachnu Maminim Benei Maminim. (video coming soon)

11:11 Kevin Bright (Friends Producer) with Levin Cunin. Beautiful piece, visiting Kevin’s father in the hospital before he passed away. Singing Bei Mir Bistu Shein.

11:17 Kevin Bright just donated 108,000 towards a new shul in Malibu. Wow.

11:18 New pledge update. $4.4 Million dollars.

11:20 Regis Philbin!! Asking for the Dancin’ Rabbi’s.

11:25 Don Stark from That 70’s Show is on the telethon.

11:34 Gad Elbaz singing again. Playing the piano.Really nice song.

11:43 The Mayor of Beverly Hills is on now. A Jewish Yid from Iran. He has an amazing story.

11:45 One more pledge update before I call it quits tonight – $5.14 Million Dollars.

I think I’m done for the night.

I’ll have a lot of video in the morning. Or go here for all the videos on youtube.

About lifeofrubinarchives

You enjoyed this blog for 5 years, but sadly now the ride is over. We decided to move the archives here for people who want to go back and revisit old posts and for new people to discover the blog for the first time!
This entry was posted in Chabad, Gad Elbaz, Jewish Music, Yeshiva Boys Choir. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

