Even More Acappella Stuff

I think we could all use a break from the sadness and heartache of what happened yesterday. Here is something to hopefully to distract you a little in the mean time.

Sameach released a very interesting interview
with Jordan Gorfinkel who produced the KolZimra albums and Beatachon. It’s a very inside ball interview and I recommend reading through the whole thing. Here is one great line.

I once heard an organ — that was impressive, technologically. It’s really cool! That said, creatively, I don’t personally see the point. One man’s opinion, but if you want a guitar sound, play a guitar.”

Speaking of fake guitars, Jewish Blogmeister has another acapella review. This time he reviews the controversial CD from AKA Pella.

Yesterday I had an interesting question in the comments section to my acappella post. I thought I’d put my answer in this post, and invite others to add (or subtract) from what I said.

Chaya-
“can i ask you a question, where is the actual source for not having music, is it minhag or not? i looked in kitzur shulchan aruch n it didnt mention it at all.
also, what is the schtick with being aloud to listen to music aslong as it is in the privacy of your own home, is there sucha thing, or is it just made up?

My reply-
Chaya, I’m not one of those guys who can quote shulchan orach or gemorah off hand, sorry. BUT I beleive we do it because in between the days of Pesach and Shavuos we are supposed to be refining ourselves from the low levels of spirituality we were in in Egypt to a level that we could witness what we later witnessed on Har Sinei.

One of the ways in which we do this is to do the same things that an Aval does. We refrain from things that would give us pleasure. The Rabbi’s are the ones who decided what those are, buying new clothing, going to a Simcha (i.e getting married, having a party) hearing music is one of those things.

I know people have very different minhagimg for this, but I believe that it’s the spirit of what we’re trying to accomplish here that should be observed.

If you think listening to music, live or pre-recorded is going to bring you joy then you should refrain.

About lifeofrubinarchives

You enjoyed this blog for 5 years, but sadly now the ride is over. We decided to move the archives here for people who want to go back and revisit old posts and for new people to discover the blog for the first time!
This entry was posted in A Cappela, Interesting, Jewish Music, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

