We Can Rebuild it, Faster, Stronger, Better Then Before, (AKA JIBS POSTPONED FOR A FEW MONTHS)

What has passed, has passed. It’s over. I’m not looking back. Now we look onward towards the future. Israel Forum which had offered to host the 3rd Annual Jibs has changed the name for a myriad of reasons. For Dave at IsraellyCool’s explanation you can go there and read what he wrote.

I encourage anyone who wants to be involved in the new awards happening at Israel Forum to do so – but just don’t call it the Jibs. The Jibs will be back in a few months under (G-d help me) my direction. I don’t plan on tackling this alone. No, I’m not insane, I am counting on you and you and 4 or 5 bloggers who have shown interest in helping me direct this massive project.

The Jibs will take sometime in the next few months and:

  • It will be open to anyone who wants to be a part of it. No Registration required.
  • It will be held on a neutral site and be run by a commission of bloggers.
  • We will have SEPARATE categories for large blogs and (not yet as large blogs.)
  • It will be based on YOUR votes, plain and simple.
  • More focus will be put on individual posts and the actual promoting of J-Blogs, there will still be awards and finalists, but the award part of it will be toned down.
  • Some of the categories will be voted on by a separate commission of Bloggers made up of past Jibs winners
I want to make one thing abundantly clear. I was a huge supporter of the Jibs the last two years. I felt that the format that had been established was great, it just needed to be adjusted. I never at any time meant any harm to anyone. I was just fighting for what I BELIEVED was the right thing. I thank all the bloggers who supported me, I can’t tell you how much it meant.

I know that there are many of you out there who still are against any award competition simply for the reason that you feel an award cheapens the goal of your blogging. That’s why we will attempt to tone down the actual award process and focus on everyones main goal. To promote Jewish and Israeli blogs.

I know that there were always be people who complain and the 2 Jews 3 opinions motto will always stand true. But I feel strongly that if we incorporate everyone’s ideas into one system – we can finally once and for all end the infighting with regards to the Jibs.

Anyone who wants is welcome to email me to either help create this years platform, offer support or help in any other that you can.

But for now, feel free to go over to Israel Forum and participate in Israel Forum’s Jewish Blog Awards. In fact, even though I may have my issues with the voting process and whatever, it doesn’t mean you shouldn’t support the Jblogs that are nominated.

Like I said, whats done is done. Now we look towards the future.

About lifeofrubinarchives

You enjoyed this blog for 5 years, but sadly now the ride is over. We decided to move the archives here for people who want to go back and revisit old posts and for new people to discover the blog for the first time!
This entry was posted in Israel, Jewish Community, Link Drops, News, PSA's, Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

